Homemade Strawberry Jam

Morning!!  So this weekend I channeled my inner Martha Stewart and got to making a few yummy things.  Tried 3 new recipes, 2 worked so we just won’t talk about the other one and how cucumbers and zucchini are NOT the same.  Anyway, today I’ll share with you this awesome Strawberry Jam recipe I discovered on a “new to me” blog, 100 Days of Real Food.

Not only was the recipe SUPER easy to make but the end result was delicious.  I made a small batch just in case it wasn’t so yummy but next time will go all out with the full amounts.  One of the best parts…no sugar, no pectin and it’s 100% organic.  Honestly, it was so easy even my cousin Lisa could make this.  NO JOKE.

Here’s the recipe (from 100 Days of Real Food)

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 pounds strawberries and/or blueberries, local/organic recommended
  • 3 ¾ cup organic honey
  • 1 ½ unpeeled organic apples, grated
  • 1 ½ tablespoons organic lemon juice

DIRECTIONS

1.  Rinse the berries and remove any spoiled or severely blemished ones. Hull strawberries and slice in half.

2.  Add the berries, honey, grated apple, and lemon juice to a large pot over high heat. Once the mixture comes to a boil, lower the heat to medium and allow the mixture to continue to boil lightly for approximately 30 – 60 minutes (I let it go for 60 minutes and it was the perfect consistency). The berries will burst and thicken so be sure to scrape the sides of the pot and stir as you go. The longer the jam cooks the thicker the final product will be.

Here’s where I stopped and put it in tupperware…1 in the fridge and 3 in the freezer.  I didn’t do the canning part because, frankly, I don’t have the time/patience for all of that.  Also, as I mentioned I made a small batch so there wouldn’t have been enough for canning anyway.  If you want to go for it and jar some jam, go to the website (link above)–there are step by step instructions.

The above recipe yields 6 pints of jam.  I made 1 pint but will make more next time for sure!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

