Diet Coke Detox, Day 2

I made it through day 2 which was definitely harder than Day 1.  On Day 1, I think my body didn’t realize it was never getting a DC again so I didn’t really have any detox effects.  Day 2 was a different story, although, not as bad as I thought it would be.  The headache started around 10:00am but I quickly nipped it in the bud with a cup of tea (which, by the way, I don’t even like but figured it was a natural way to get some caffeine and preferred that over popping some pills).  After the tea, I was fine the rest of the day.  I’ve been feeling tired but don’t know if that’s the caffeine withdrawal or the fact that I’ve been averaging about 3 hours of sleep per night for the past 3 months.

The psychological effects are, well, I feel a bit pathetic.  When I thought about it today, I kind of got sad that I would really never have another DC again.  It’s just a beverage and has no feelings for me so it seems silly that this would be what I was feeling, but I’m being honest here.  I guess it’s been part of my daily routine for as long as I can remember and been a constant in my life for several years now so I’ll miss it but I also know I’ll soon get over that feeling.

I’m thinking Days 2-7 are going to be the hardest.  I read somewhere that it takes 2 weeks to break a habit but I’m assuming the first week is the hardest.  Here I am writing this on Day 3 and so far so good!

nemo

NE folks–stay safe and warm in this snowstorm!  I do sometimes wonder if weather people get paid more for the dramatics…I’m sure it’s going to be a big storm but really, sometimes they make it sound like the world is going to come to an end over two feet of snow.  I remember when we were little and two feet of snow outside was, well, just part of winter.  Also, who names these things?  Nemo doesn’t even know what snow is!  He lives on a coral reef people!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

