Farmer Clarence and Red Coconut Curry Sauce

Morning!  So last week I got back to getting my veggies from good ol’ Farmer Clarence.  Included in my $15 bag was a TON of Callaloo (Jamaican Spinach), Bok Choy, Lettuce, Lemon Basil, Pumpkin, Cucumber, a few dozen Cherry Tomatoes, a Turnip and another unknown root vegetable.  Just going on memory here, but I think that about covers it.  To buy this amount of produce in the grocery store here would cost me about $50 and it wouldn’t be nearly as fresh so I love FC!  (PS.  I have no idea why I capitalized all of those items…)

The best part of getting the loot is when I get something that I’ve never cooked with before (or don’t cook with too often).  I like to find new recipes to try out and hope they make it into the rotation!

Last week I used the bok choy along with some red pepper that I had and some tilapia we got from the grocery store.  Making the entire meal could not have been easier and it was DELISH!

Here’s the recipe:

2 fillets of tilapia (or any white fish) (6oz)
1 teaspoon red curry paste
1 cup coconut milk
1 small head bok choy
1 red pepper, sliced
1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon olive oil
Combine curry paste, coconut milk, and brown sugar in a small sauce pan over low heat until thickens.

Chop bok choy up into small pieces then boil then till they’re slightly tender then drain set aside.

Heat oil in med saute pan and cook each side about 3 to 4 minutes (you can also grill the fish instead of pan searing it!)

Take fish out and plate.

Add the veggies to the pan, cook for 3 minutes, until tender.

Divide veggies onto two plates and drizzle with curry sauce.

(Note:  You can add more veggies to this as well–broccoli, snap peas, and mushrooms would all work nicely with this dish!)

 

Enjoy!!

(recipe slightly adapted from Food.com)

 

Leave a Reply

