Love is all we need.

21800114_BG1

 

I try to keep it light here and never talk politics but today, I have something to say.  You don’t have to read if you don’t want to, but I feel compelled to share my thoughts, so here you go…

We’ve all know about the Supreme Court hearings going on regarding same-sex marriages, right?  If not, just pull up any newspaper and get up to speed.  Here’s where I’m at with all of this…My first (and strongest) thought on this is, why on earth is this even a discussion?  Do we not have better, more important things to resolve in this world?  Why is our government spending time on who marries who (or is it whom?) ??  I just don’t get it.

People who are gay or lesbian do not choose this just as I did not choose to be heterosexual or to have blue eyes.  We are all unique in one way or another but there is one common denominator…we are all human and have the ability to love.  

It disgusts me when people say that gays, lesbians, transgender individuals have CHOSEN this and that it’s a lifestyle.  I don’t know about you but I was not presented with a menu of choices when I was popping out of my mother’s vagina–were you?? 

The argument about same-sex parenting is even worse.  Why on earth would people think that children would be sociologically affected by having two moms or two dads?  I know someone who had a mom and dad and his dad pushed him off a roof–intentionally.  So, how’s that traditional set up workin’ out for you??  There are plenty of kids out there with no mom or no dad or, sadly, nobody to look after them.  Wouldn’t it be better if they grew up in a home with two people who loved them and each other regardless of their gender?? 

I couldn’t even imagine if someone told me I couldn’t marry my husband.  He is the best person I know, the best husband a gal could ask for and the best dad in the world. 

Aren’t we tired of all of the fighting?  Can’t we all use a little bit more love in our lives?

Leave a Reply

